DIY Ink Pad Storage

Hey guys! Today my post is about organization & storage. Now I don’t know about you, but I struggle to stay organized in my craft studio. Being messy and having a small studio don’t mix well. So when I redid my studio I put a lot of thought into how I could maximize the space I had and keep things handy but organized.

One of the first issues I tackled was my ink pad storage. Originally I kept them in my desk drawer, but as my collection grew I realised this system would not work long term. I could only fit 18 pads in one drawer and, since I had 33 total, this would mean filling both drawers up, leaving no room for some of the other things I needed to store close at hand. WP_20160316_16_07_37_Pro

So one day I was looking around on youtube and I found the perfect solution! I came across a video which showed how to make your own ink pad storage tower out of cardstock!  You know I love a good DIY and this is just genius! Super simple to make and you only need a few inexpensive supplies.

The video is in German but the measurements are all written down on post-it notes and it’s really easy to follow.

I’ve changed it up a bit to suit my personal needs (I wanted to fit 12 ink pads in one tower and I also didn’t need the reinker tray on top). You can do the same if you want to (you just have to adjust the backing piece measurements as I did).

WP_20160314_16_19_34_Pro

These are all the supplies you’ll need for one tower:

  • 7 sheets of A4 cardstock (I recommend using thicker cardstock, 300g, to ensure the tower is super sturdy and durable)
  • paper trimmer
  • liquid glue
  • double sided tape
  • ruler

In order to make the 12 slots I cut down 6 of the sheets to 10.5 x 25 cm. I scored each one at 2, 12, 14 and 24 cm. Then I folded on the score lines and used some strong double sided tape to glue the flaps.

WP_20160314_16_03_20_Pro56

After I assembled all 12 slots, I used some liquid glue to adhere one on top of the other (you can see this in the video). To give stability to the tower you need to glue a backing piece. Since I went with 12 slots I adjusted my size by measuring the height of my tower (you can see it’s 24.8 cm). So my piece measures 21 x 24.8 cm (score lines are the same: 5.4 cm and 15.6 cm).

WP_20160314_16_54_42_Pro

I glued it to the sides of the tower and voila! The completed project(s)!

WP_20160314_17_10_23_Pro

I love that I’m able to store my inks vertically now, which saves me a lot of space, and they’re right behind my desk for easy reach.

WP_20160314_17_11_22_Pro

Hope you like the idea as much as I did! Check out the video and give it a try :).

Leave a Reply

