Big things come in small packages – GDP#023

Hey guys! Today I am featuring a project that is close to my heart.

One of my close friends recently suffered a loss and I wanted to make something for him and his wife to show support and try to ease their grief in some small part. It strikes me as I write this how lucky I am to have the means to create heartfelt things for my friends and family.

While I didn’t start out with this in mind, it ended up working with this week’s GDP theme challenge.

GDP023

I started out by making a 6×6″ envelope using some Mint Macaron Envelope Paper and the Envelope Punch Board. For the tag I used the balloon and one of the sentiments from SU’s Honeycomb Happiness. The sentiment was exactly what I needed and there are few things I can think of more cheering than balloons (ok, maybe ice cream and pizza).

WP_20160216_09_49_39_Pro

I wanted the tag to have a very soft look so I used watercolour and also the Ornate Tag Topper Punch for a nice, elegant finish. The sentiment is stamped in Versamark and embossed in gold.

WP_20160216_09_49_47_Pro

So why did I need a 6×6″ envelope ? I started with the idea of making something using a quote I had found and really liked. At times like these it’s difficult to find the right words to comfort someone and I thought this quote was beautiful and said it better than I ever could. I played around with some brush lettering fonts (the one I ended up using is called Chasing Embers) and printed out a few options. Then, I decided I wanted to use the stunning constellation paper from the Going Places DSP stack as the background. The white of the copy paper was a bit too harsh for my liking so I layered a piece of vellum with small gold spots on top and added some gold washi as a finishing touch.

WP_20160216_09_47_54_Pro

If you have someone in your life that needs some encouragement or support this is a really simple idea that you could use to make their day better.

4 thoughts on “Big things come in small packages – GDP#023

  1. What a beautiful and thoughtful card and envelope Andie. It’s so nice to be able to bless someone with something you’ve made. I’m sure the family will treasure it. Thanks so much for including your creation in this week’s Global Design Project challenge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

