CHA 2016 – My top picks

Before I get on with my list I just want to explain what CHA is (in case anyone is wondering). The CHA (Craft & Hobby Association) Mega Show is like the prom of crafting events. It’s the industry’s biggest tradeshow and it’s where companies showcase their newest products.

Some of these products won’t even be available until February / March but I like to make a list ahead of time so I can prepare my poor wallet for what’s coming :).

So first up is We Are Memory Keepers (WRMK). I’m a big fan of their products, particularly their punch boards, so it’s no surprise that the first thing on my list is the Alphabet Punch Board. I literally flipped when I saw this!

wr_alphabet-punch-board

I love making banners but I often find that after I’m done preparing things for a workshop or a birthday I run out of time and I end up not making one. But what if it only took a few minutes to make ? Yes, please!

This thing can make all the letters of the alphabet, plus numbers and some symbols. And if that wasn’t enough they even have these super cute 3×5 paper pads to go with it. Just pick one out and start punching. I can see myself using this for everything from baby showers, birthdays, bake sales, craft fairs and more.

wr_alphabet-punch-board-paper-pads

The next thing on my list is the WRMK Organization Gallery. This is the most gorgeous wall display I have ever seen! Period!

cute

Six different ways to display your artwork, things that inspire you or store some of your favourite things. I’ll be ordering these as soon as they’re available.

Next up is Heidi Swapp. She always comes up with the most amazing products. Her Minc and Marquee Love collections are some of my faves. This year she came out with a Light Box collection and it literally brought tears to my eyes. This reminds me of those old movie theatre signs where they would switch out the plastic letters (here’s a visual to help with that https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ieaYv50BTdU).

Heidi-Swapp-Marquee-Love-LIGHTBOX-Lightbox-White_b3.jpg

Also new in her Minc line is the reactive paint. This means that you can paint anything you want and then foil it. Check out a pic here. I mean come on…genius!

Next up some stamps, because that’s my main jam :).

There are a couple of awesome stamps from Altenew that caught my eye. Altenew is known for its beautiful floral stamps and this Peony Bouquet set is just stunning.

PicMonkey Collage

The other Altenew stamp that I really like is Way too Sweet. This stamp set is just sooooo adorable. Can you ever have too many ice cream stamps ? Not in my book 🙂

PicMonkey Collage2The next stamp comes from Pinkfresh Studio and it’s called Bibliophile. I don’t even have to explain why I love this, it just ticks all the geeky boxes of my heart.

PFCS0816 bibilophile

Next up is Lawn Fawn. They are known for their cute stamps and silly puns. And in this category are Year Six and Donut Worry. Both of these just crack me up :).

PicMonkey Collage3

For me however, the most exciting thing coming out from Lawn Fawn is the Stamp Shammy. This was created specifically for cleaning off photopolymer stamps. Can I get a woot-woot ? No more lint or fibres stuck to your stamps and no more worry over chemicals and cleaners damaging them. Just good ol’ water and the shammy 🙂

LF1045_StampShammy

Next up we have scrapbooking. I mostly do Project Life these days but I still like to put together the occassional mini album or layout so I do like to have a few things to play with. The collection I’m most excited about is Better Together by Amy Tangerine. Mix tapes, postcards, records, donuts, polaroids, this is retro amazingness. The colors are super vibrant and there’s a lot of watercolor elements and textures. You can check out some close-up pics here. Love it!

6a00d8357de06869e201b8d18d2c39970c-550wi

Another collection I really like is Shimelle‘s Starshine. This one also has a retro feel to it but it’s more a nod to the 50’s. It’s all about dreams and exploring and it’s awesome. That set of washi tapes…get outta here! Love it!

PicMonkey Collage4

And last but certainly not least is the Fancy Free collection by Paige Evans for Pink Paislee. This one has a softer look to it and it’s just gorgeous. Those string art templates are amazing!

Colorful & Happy by Paige Evans

So hold on to your wallets folks, it’s gonna be a bumpy ride 🙂

Leave a Reply

