Christmas Terrarium

Merry Christmas guys! If you’re like me you’re probably still recovering after Christmas lunch…I swore I couldn’t eat another bite and there I was going for one more potato :)).

But this post is evidence that I did eventually manage to peel myself from the table and do a little last minute crafting. I saw this fabulous idea on Stampin’ Up’s blog the other day and I knew I had to make one. You can check out the original idea and project here.

Introducing the Christmas terrarium…

WP_20151225_16_31_13_Pro

How cute is this thing ?! It’s super easy to make and you only need a couple of things you probably have around the house.

WP_210151225_16_31_49_Pro

medium or large jar (depends how many things you want to put in it)

coarse salt (you can use fine salt if that’s the only kind you have but you get better texture with the large crystals; you can also mix in some glitter or mica flakes to give it some sparkle like I did here)

a few sprigs of rosemary (it smells amazing; you can also use some small pine branches)

elements for building your scene (you can use anything from small ornaments, die cuts, cupcake toppers – yup that’s what the Santa and reindeer I used are, you can spray paint some pine cones, literally anything will work)

trim to decorate the jar (I used some gold cord, a couple of bells and some wooden snowflakes, but any ribbon/embellishments will do)

WP_20151225_16_32_29_Pro

These would be great as a gift for loved ones or as a centre piece for the Christmas feast :). I hope you give it a try 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

