DIY Spice Jar Labels

Hey guys! Today I have a non-Christmas project for you. Although one can argue that Christmas is the best time for spicing things up in the kitchen 😉

I’ve been meaning to share this project for a while now so I figured I’d just go for it. It started out with my mom complaining that her spice cabinet was out of control. She had this really neat cabinet custom made for her teas and spices and all that, but over time she filled it with jars of all shapes and sizes and it was a nightmare trying to find anything in there.

Case in point:

WP_20150928_19_11_25_Pro

So how did I get the fancy “after” look ? Easy peasy.

First I ordered 7 packs of Droppar jars from Ikea. I love these – they’re affordable and look really great.

WP_20150913_17_45_34_Pro

Then I cut some rectangles out of black cardstock (about 5 cm x 2.5 cm). You can cut the labels to any size (and shape) to fit any jars you want to use, the principle is the same.

I grabbed my White Gel Pen and drew a leafy border around the edges. This is a very forgiving pattern so you don’t have to worry too much about straight lines.

Then I wrote the names of the spices in the middle using different styles. I mostly used script, which is my favourite style, but I also used plain old caps and they still look fab. You really don’t have to be a hand-lettering genius to make these, I promise :).

WP_20150928_19_11_34_Pro This chalkboard look is very “in” and looks super cute. I hope you give this a try (even if you’re not spice hoarders like us 😀 ).

P.S. (for my English readers): In case you were wondering about some of the strange names, they’re in Romanian. I couldn’t have my mom Google Translate whenever she needs a little thyme 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

